Premiere: Todo Lo Que Brilla by Familia De Lobos

‘Todo Lo Que Brilla’ is the first track from a new, self-titled, album by Argentinian six-piece Familia De Lobos (Family of Wolves), coming out on Riot Season Records on 19th January 2018. As you would expect from a release from that label Familia De Lobos as a band are a very interesting proposition. This is something that is not immediately evident when you looks at the band’s line-up of Eric Moreno (guitar and voice), Charly Cross (guitar), Maria Anselmo (bass drum and percussion), Andres Merlo (Synthesizers), Matias blanco (percussion), y Fermin ugarte (bass); but in addition to these familiar instruments, played through valve amps, Familia De Lobos also employ pre-columbian instruments, from the southern region of Latin America.

This gives them a very rich and mellow sound through which the band say they intend “to restore the bond between the human being, the earth and the living forms in it; the re-connection of himself and his most primitive emotions, sharing and restoring in that way, the spiritual world of the original people from South American, in the context of modern life.”

‘Todo Lo Que Brilla’ certainly seems to meet these criteria with its cool and hazy psychedelic rock elements, which on their own could be transported straight from the 1970s. Yet it also has within it, as an intrinsic part of the music, a folk sensibility that locates the band within their South American milieu. In this way it reminded me of the likes of Hills, Dreamtime and The Myrrors; each of whom add their own sense of place to their music. And for my money, on this evidence, this release is going to be every good as the output of those bands.


‘Familia de Lobos’ is released by Riot Season on 19th January 2018, and is available for pre-order now here and here. It is a limited edition of only 300 LPs pressed on snow white vinyl in a 350gsm reverse board printed outer sleeve. Riot Season have 180 of these in total. Available to pre order now as either a stand alone LP or with a bonus promo CD copy.

LP Tracklisting

Side A
1. Todo Lo Que Brilla (7:14)
2. El Viento Y La Luz (5:33)
3. Sangria (7:19)

Side B
1. Mi Amor Salvaje (6:15)
2. Familia De Lobos (Preludio) (3:15)
3. Conquista Del Desierto (Canto De Precipicio) (4:25)
4. Familia De Lobos (7:38)


Thanks very much for reading my blog, I really appreciate this. I write it as a labour of love to help me enjoy music, and to give something back to the many talented people who put out these incredible sounds.

To make it as enjoyable as possible for others I do pay extra so there are, for instance, no ads on these pages; but it would be great if the blog could pay for itself.

So, if you’ve really enjoyed your visit here and have found some music that you think is amazing, why not buy me a coffee (I write in independent cafés a lot) by clicking the “make a donation” button on the sidebar or footer depending on your device.


Follow The Fragmented Flâneur on Facebook, Instagram (@fragmentedflaneur), Twitter (@fragmentflaneur) and bandcamp


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s